Big Gulp

Wed, 27 Dec 2017

I've spent most of my time building web apps with frameworks like React, Angular and Vue. Most of them come setup with nice tooling that…

Tutorial: CRUD Express App built TDD

Sat, 23 Sep 2017

This tutorial expects a basic knowledge of command line/git/npm or yarn/js. Everything else I'll do my best to explain! Intro This tutorial…

How VR will change the way we learn

Mon, 03 Jul 2017

The concept of Virtual Reality is nothing new. We've always seen futuristic headsets depicted in books and on screen, with people…

The world is my Oyster - MA Week 2

Sat, 23 Apr 2016

Week 2 flew by. After a triumphant feeling at the end of week 1, this week took me down a peg or two. We were tasked to build something…

Pairing with Boris - MA Week 1

Sun, 17 Apr 2016

It's began for real! The precourse was great fun but as I was working full time it has just seemed like another hobby until now. I finished…

Dragons, Orange trees and Birthdays - MA Precourse Week 3

Mon, 04 Apr 2016

The Precourse is going FAST. Week 3 is over. It was challenging once again but I felt a lot more comfortable in Ruby. We finished off…

Cheek and Pine - MA Precourse End of Week 2, Start of Week 3

Wed, 30 Mar 2016

Week 2 has finished. I'm actually half way through week 3 but I was a bit busy over the weekend and forgot to write a post here. Week 2 was…

Ruby Ruby Ruby Ruby! - MA Precourse Week 2

Wed, 23 Mar 2016

So we're about half way through the 2nd week of the precourse. This week we've started on Ruby. With all the work I'd done for the interview…

Makers are go! - MA Precourse Week 1

Wed, 16 Mar 2016

So the Makers Academy precourse is in full swing! I've just come to the end of the first week which has consisted of Command Line and Git. I…

Codewars

Sun, 06 Mar 2016

I made it 3 whole posts before forgetting to blog. A new record! I’m back now though and I have a few updates! I was accepted to Makers…

Next Steps

Tue, 16 Feb 2016

So i took the plunge… Or at least I’ve walked up the steps to the diving board. I’ve applied to Makers Academy! So far I’ve got through the…

Languages

Wed, 10 Feb 2016

It had always confused me how people were able to learn so many programming languages. The idea that you learnt one then applied the theory…

Code

Mon, 08 Feb 2016

I’ve tried to learn programming on a few occasions in recent years. I always started out full of motivation and hope. I had fun learning and…